top of page
Search
  • ISSO

Hallym exchange taught me more than just academic study

By Angela Marie Ng, University of the Philippines Diliman / UP Diliman


Going on exchange was the best decision I’ve ever made. My experience taught me so much more than academic study. I discovered so much about myself – my likes and dislikes, my limitations, and the extent of my ability to grow and improve as a person – that I might not have realized if I had not gone on exchange.

(View from the top of Bonguisan Mountain – next to Hallym University)


I learned how to budget my expenses and maximize my time. Living alone in a different country really forced me to fend for myself. It can be scary at first, but Hallym really takes care of its students. They assigned us a local buddy, an automatic friend, even before we arrived, so they could help us physically and culturally navigate South Korea and share in our crazy escapades as well.

(me on Hallym sports field)


I also learned to say yes to new and exciting adventures. Before arriving in South Korea, I made a promise to myself to have no regrets. I told myself to make the most out of this trip, to try things I’ve never tried before, and to enjoy every single moment, both the good and the bad. And that is exactly what I did.

(Yonggungsa Temple)


I explored Chuncheon, Seoul, and Busan. I visited temples and palaces, trying on the 한복 (hanbok) or the traditional Korean attire as well. I ate all kinds of food, even 산낙지(san-nakji)or live octopus (it’s not too bad, so don’t miss out on this). But without a doubt, the best part of my exchange journey was the friends I made along the way. Most of my friendships were built in our beloved international dormitory and in the engaging classes we shared. I even met up with students from other universities in Chuncheon and Seoul. I still talk to most of them online, and we plan to visit each other’s countries soon!All the people I encountered and the memories we created together were what shaped my semester to be the most unforgettable experience of my life.

(Wearing Hanboks in Gyeongbokgung)


If I could only give one piece of advice, it would be to keep your mind open to anything and anyone. It might not be easy but force the fear and anxiety out of your system and just go for it. You won’t regret it!



97 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page